Countries > Chinese Taipei > Olympic Tradition

Chinese Taipei: Olympic Tradition

Has won 15 Olympic medals: two gold, six silver and seven bronze. Has been a member of the IOC since 1960, when decathletes Rafer Johnson of the United States and C.K. Yang of Taiwan, teammates at UCLA, won gold and silver medals, respectively. In 1968, Chi Cheng became the first Asian woman to win an Olympic track and field medal when she finished third in the 80m hurdles. Withdrew from the 1976 Games in Montreal, protesting the agreement between the IOC and the Canadian government that it must compete under the name Taiwan, rather than Republic of China. Boycotted the 1980 Games.

At the 2004 Athens Games, Chu Mu-Yen became the first male Taiwanese athlete to win an Olympic gold medal.
At the 2004 Athens Games, Chu Mu-Yen became the first male Taiwanese athlete to win an Olympic gold medal.

In 1981, agreed to an IOC proposal that it compete under a new name (Chinese Taipei), flag and national anthem. Won a bronze medal in weightlifting in Los Angeles, where it also won a demonstration bronze in baseball. Its baseball team finished as runner-up to Cuba at the 1992 Barcelona Games. Of the Taiwanese baseball players in Barcelona, 11 had competed on Little League World Series champion teams. The country's only medal in Atlanta came from table tennis player Chen Jing, who won the silver in women's singles. Chen was a gold medalist in 1988 when she competed for China before moving to Taiwan in 1991.

Won five medals in Sydney (one silver, four bronze). The silver medal went to weightlifter Li Feng-Yeng in the women's 53kg/117 lbs division. In Athens, picked up three taekwondo medals, including its first two gold medals (men's Olympic flyweight Chu Mu-Yen and women's Olympics flyweight Chen Shih-Hsin) and two archery medals.

2008 Medals

©2009 NBC Universal. All rights reserved. Any use, reproduction, modification, distribution, display or performance of this material without NBC Universal's prior written consent is prohibited.