Sailing > Inside This Sport

BasicsComp. FormatsThe Races The CourseGlossaryQualificationHistoryVenues


Up to 3,000 categories of sailboats reportedly exist around the world, each class with its own set of rules and specifications. At the Olympics, 11 events are contested in nine different types of boats. Boats compete in fleet races, with each regatta lasting a series of days.

Of the 11 events at the Olympics, men compete in four, women compete in four and three classes are open to both. Crew sizes range from single-handed to three-person boats. Each class is a different size and shape, requiring certain skills of the sailors in order to operate the boat successfully. Below are all the Olympic classes: 




Men's Star

Two-person keelboat

Men's 470

Two-person boat

Women's 470

Two-person boat

Open class Finn

Single-handed dinghy

Men's RS:X

Single-person boardsailing

Women's RS:X

Single-person boardsailing

Women's Yngling

Three-person keelboat

Men's Laser

Single-handed dinghy

Women's Laser Radial

Single-handed dinghy

Open class Tornado

Two-person catamaran

Open class 49er

Two-person high-performance dinghy

Video of the Games

1 of 10 Videos
©2009 NBC Universal. All rights reserved. Any use, reproduction, modification, distribution, display or performance of this material without NBC Universal's prior written consent is prohibited.